Two of the most common questions we hear are “What is a tech nonprofit?” and “Where can I find them?”

Our answer to the first question is tech nonprofits look like a typical tech startup – they build a product using technology – and have selected a nonprofit structure because they’re building for impact instead of profits. Like startups, they come in different sizes from different sectors, but their product is core to their theory of change.

As to where they can be found that’s trickier. Since January 2014, we’ve combed the field to surface tech nonprofits and we made a list. So far, the list is 215 organizations [updated October 28, 2015].

Below is the complete list. We’ve also launched a TECH NONPROFIT DIRECTORY, which we are actively populating with much more information on these organizations searchable by many filters. Add your organization to the directory through the Submit Organization form.

A few notes:

1. Without question, this is a sector ripe for growth.

2. Not all of the organizations listed are officially nonprofits. Many are fiscally sponsored, some are in the application process, and others work in geographies where the classification is problematic.

3. Not all of the organizations listed would consider themselves tech nonprofits, but it’s our list.

4. We’re confident that some organizations are missing. We will publish the list regularly. If you have organizations to add or edit, please contact us so we can update (info at ffwd dot org).

5. It is not common practice for funders to publicly publish their pipelines. We think the lack of transparency in philanthropy hinders sector growth. That’s why we are publishing our list.

Tech Nonprofit URL Twitter
80,000 Hours https://80000hours.org 80000Hours
1947 Partition Archive http://www.1947partitionarchive.org/ 1947Partition
Ability List https://www.abilitylist.org/ AbilityList
AbleThrive http://www.ablethrive.com/ AbleThrive
Activate Instruction http://www.activateinstruction.org/ ActivateIn
AdoptAClassroom http://www.adoptaclassroom.org/ Adopt_classroom
AdoptTogether http://www.adopttogether.org/ Adoptt
AdvanceNet Labs http://krthode.wix.com/advancenetlabs AdvanceNetLabs
Aliim http://aliim.org/
Ample Harvest http://www.ampleharvest.org/ AmpleHarvest
Apps4Good http://www.appsforgood.org/ AppsforGoodCDI
ATMA Mobile http://atmaconnect.org/ AtmaConnect
Ballot Path http://www.ballotpath.org/
Bayes Impact http://www.bayesimpact.org/ bayesimpact
Beehive www.beehivecrowdfund.org BeehiveFund
Ben’s Friends http://www.bensfriends.org/ bensfriends
Benetech http://benetech.org/ Benetech
Better World Ed www.betterworlded.org betterworldedu
Beyond 12 http://beyond12.org/ beyond12
BitGive Foundation http://bitgivefoundation.org/ BitGiveOrg
Blue Planet Network https://blueplanetnetwork.org BluePlanetNet
Blueprint Earth http://blueprintearth.org/ BlueprintEarth
Bookshare.org https://www.bookshare.org Bookshare
Brackets for Good http://www.bracketsforgood.org/ bracketsforgood
Brioxy https://www.brioxy.com/ BrioxyInc
CareerVillage.org https://careervillage.org/ careervillage
CareMessage http://caremessage.org/ caremessage
Case Commons http://casecommons.org/ CaseCommons
Catch22 http://www.catch-22.org.uk/ Catch22charity
Cell-Ed http://celled.org/ Cell_Ed
Center for Responsive Politics http://www.opensecrets.org/ OpenSecretsDC
Center for Technology and Civic Life http://www.techandciviclife.org/ HelloCTCL
Cgnet Swara http://www.cgnetswara.org/ CGNet_Swara
Change Machine https://change-machine.org/
CHAYN http://chayn.co/ ChaynHQ
Classroom, Inc. http://www.classroominc.org/ classroominc
Code.org http://code.org codeorg
Code for America http://www.codeforamerica.org/ codeforamerica
Codestarter.org https://codestarter.org/ codestarterorg
Color Of Change http://colorofchange.org/ ColorOfChange
CommonLit http://www.commonlit.org CommonLit
Common Sense Media http://www.commonsensemedia.org/ CommonSense
COTAP – Carbon Offsets To Alleviate Poverty http://cotap.org/ carbonpoverty
Coworker.org https://www.coworker.org/ teamcoworker
Credit Do http://creditdo.org/ CreditDo
Crisis Text Line http://www.crisistextline.org/ CrisisTextLine
Critical Link http://www.criticalink.org/ CriticaLinkApp
CrowdVoice www.crowdvoice.org CrowdVoice
Curiouslearning.org http://www.curiouslearning.org/ CuriousLearnGLP
D-Rev http://d-rev.org/ d_rev_org
DemocracyOS http://democracyos.org/ DemocracyOS
Digital Green http://www.digitalgreen.org/ digitalgreenorg
DNAdigest http://dnadigest.org/ DNADigest
Do Something http://www.dosomething.org/ dosomething
DonorsChoose.org http://www.donorschoose.org/ DonorsChoose
E.thePeople http://ethepeople.org/ etppl
Eduko Foundation http://www.edukofoundation.org GoEduko
EdX https://www.edx.org/ edXOnline
Enlearn Enlearn.org EnLearnorg
eSwaraj.com http://www.eswaraj.com/ eSwarajApp
Falling Fruit www.fallingfruit.org Falling_Fruit
Families Empowered http://www.familiesempowered.org/ FamsEmpowered
FCancer https://fcancer.org/ FcancerProject
Feasted.org http://www.feasted.org/ wefeasted
Feeding Forward http://www.feedingforward.com/ FeedingForward
Frogtek http://frogtek.org/ frogtek
FrontlineSMS http://www.frontlinesms.com/ FrontlineSMS
FunDza http://www.fundza.co.za/ FunDzaClub
Games for Change http://www.gamesforchange.org/ G4C
Geledes http://www.geledes.org.br/ geledes
Get Schooled http://www.getschooled.com getschooled
Give Directly www.givedirectly.org Give_Directly
Give Mob http://www.givemobapp.org/ GiveMobApp
GiveWell http://www.givewell.org/ GiveWell
Good World Solutions http://goodworldsolutions.org/ GoodWorldTech
Gooru Learning http://www.goorulearning.org/ gooru
GradGuru http://gradguru.weebly.com/ mygradguru
Great Nonprofits http://greatnonprofits.org/ GreatNonprofits
GreatSchools.org http://www.greatschools.org/ GreatSchools
Green Our Planet http://www.greenourplanet.org/ GreenOurPlanet2
Gun By Gun www.gunbygun.org gunbygun
Healthy Young Americans app.healthyyoungamerica.org YoungInvincible
Hermes Center for Transparency and Digital Human Rights http://logioshermes.org/ HermesCenter
Hope Lab http://www.hopelab.org/ HopeLab
Humanitarian Open Street Map http://hotosm.org/ hotosm
I’m First http://www.imfirst.org/ ImFirstGen
iCivics https://www.icivics.org/ icivics
Immigration Advocates http://www.immigrationadvocates.org/ ImmAdvocates
Impact Network http://impactnetwork.org/ Impact_Network
Infoxchange https://www.infoxchange.net.au/ Infoxchange
Instapeer http://instapeer.org/ Instapeer
InSTEDD http://instedd.org/ InSTEDD
Integrity Action http://www.integrityaction.org/ Act4Integrity
Internet Archive https://archive.org/ internetarchive
Iridescent http://iridescentlearning.org/ IridescentLA
Janaagraha Centre for Citizenship and Democracy http://www.janaagraha.org/
Kangu https://www.kangu.org/ KanguOrg
Khan Academy http://www.khanacademy.org/ khanacademy
Kitchen Garden International http://kgi.org/ rogerdoiron
Kiva http://www.kiva.org/ Kiva
KoBoToolbox http://www.kobotoolbox.org/ kobotoolbox
Latino EduMentor http://edumentoring.nationbuilder.com/
Learn Fresh Education Co. http://www.learnfresh.org/ NBAMathHoops
Library For All http://www.libraryforall.org/ LibraryForAll
Literacy Bridge http://www.literacybridge.org/ LiteracyBridge
Literacy Lab http://litlab.org/ literacy_lab
LocalWiki https://localwiki.org/ LocalWiki
Long Distance Voter http://www.longdistancevoter.org/ AbsenteeBallots
Lul.io http://www.lul.io/ lul_io
Mealshare http://www.mealshare.ca/ MealshareTeam
MediBeep http://medibeep.in/ MediBeep
Medic Mobile http://medicmobile.org/ Medic
Meedan meedan.org meedan
Mideast Youth http://www.mideastyouth.com/ MideastYouth
Mifos Initiative http://mifos.org/ mifos
MIND Research Institute http://www.mindresearch.org/ MIND_Research
Mindblown Labs http://www.mindblownlabs.com/ MindblownLabs
Missing Maps missingmaps.org TheMissingMaps
Miti Health http://mitihealth.org/ MitiHealth
MoboSens http://nanobionics.mntl.illinois.edu/mobosens/ MoboSens
MoneyThink moneythink.org moneythink
Mozilla Foundation http://www.mozilla.org mozilla
mRelief http://www.mrelief.com/ mRelief_form
myAgro http://www.myagro.org/ myAgroFarms
Nearshot http://www.nearshot.com/ miraclemsg
Newborn Foundation http://www.newbornfoundation.org/ newbornfdn
New Incentives http://newincentives.org/ NewIncentives
New Organizing Institute neworganizing.com neworganizing
New Story http://newstorycharity.org NewStoryCharity
Nexleaf Analytics http://www.nexleaf.org/ Nexleaf
Noora Health noorahealth.org NooraHealth
Odisi odisi.org odisiorg
On Our Radar http://www.onourradar.org/ OnOurRadar
OneDollarGlasses http://www.onedollarglasses.org/ EinDollarBrille
One Brick http://onebrick.org/ onebrick
One Degree http://www.1deg.org/ 1Deg
Open Food Network http://openfoodnetwork.org/ OpenFoodNet
Open Medicine Project http://www.openmedicineproject.org/ TOMP_SA
Open mHealth http://openmhealth.org/ OpenMHealth
open[Fn] http://www.openfn.org openfn
OpenCurriculum http://www.opencurriculum.org/ OpenCurriculum
Operation ASHA http://www.opasha.org/ OperationASHA
Organize https://organize.org organ_ize
PareUp http://www.pareup.com/ letspareup
Participatory Culture Foundation http://pculture.org/
Participatory Politics http://www.participatorypolitics.org/ ppolitics
Peace First http://www.peacefirst.org PeaceFirstOrg
Pennies http://www.pennies.org.uk/ pennies_orguk
PowerMyLearning http://powermylearning.org/ PowerMyLearning
Probono.net http://www.probono.net/ probono
PulsePoint http://pulsepoint.org/ pulsepoint
Quill http://www.quill.org/ Quill_org
ReadWorks https://www.readworks.org ReadWorks
ReAllocate www.reallocate.org reallocate
Reasoning Mind http://www.reasoningmind.org/ reasoningmind
Recovery Hub recoveryhub.net therecoveryhub
Refugees Unite https://refunite.org/ refunite
Report It, Girl http://reportitgirl.com/ ReportItGirl
Respite Shared respiteshared.com respiteshared
Rootio http://rootio.org/ RootioRadio
Safe City http://www.safecity.in/ pinthecreep
Sahana Software Foundation http://sahanafoundation.org/ SahanaFOSS
Samahope http://www.samahope.org/ Samahope
Samaschool http://samaschool.org/ _Samaschool
Samasource http://www.samasource.org/ Samasource
Say This Not That http://saythis-notthat.pongos.com/
Saylor Academy http://www.saylor.org/ saylordotorg
Science Buddies http://www.sciencebuddies.org/ ScienceBuddies
Scratch http://scratch.mit.edu/ ScratchEdTeam
Securing Change http://securingchange.org/ securingchange
Security First https://secfirst.org/ _SecurityFirst
Sexual Health Innovations http://www.sexualhealthinnovations.org SHInnovations
Shift http://www.shiftdesign.org.uk/ shift_org
SimPrints http://www.simprints.com/ SimPrintsTech
Single Stop http://www.singlestopusa.org/ SingleStop
Sirum https://sirum.org/ sirum
Sisi ni Amani http://www.sisiniamani.org/ SisiNiAmani
Social Interest Solutions https://www.socialinterest.org/
Solar Aid http://www.solar-aid.org/ SolarAid
Sol-Solution www.sol-solution.org thesolsolution
Solstice Initiative http://www.solsticeinitiative.org/ solarforgood
Spell Africa Initiative http://spellafrica.org/
Stellar.org https://www.stellar.org/ StellarOrg
SunSaluter http://www.sunsaluter.com/ TheSunSaluter
Talking Points http://www.talkingpoints.co/ TalkingPointsEd
TeachAIDS http://teachaids.org/ TeachAIDS
Text4Baby https://www.text4baby.org/ mytext4baby
The History Project http://thehistory-project.org/index.php historyproject_
The Learning Accelerator http://learningaccelerator.org/ LearningAccel
The School Fund https://theschoolfund.org/ TheSchoolFund
The SWAT App http://theswatapp.com/ TheSWATApp
Tidepool http://tidepool.org/ Tidepool_org
Transparency Toolkit https://transparencytoolkit.org/ TransparencyKit
Trek Medics International http://trekmedics.org/ TrekMedics
TrustTheVote Project http://www.trustthevote.org/ TrustTheVote
TurboVote https://turbovote.org TurboVote
Ultraviolet http://www.weareultraviolet.org/ UltraViolet
Union Capital Boston http://www.unioncapitalboston.org/ UCBoston
Uncommen http://uncommen.org/ UNCOMMENapp
UniversalGiving http://www.universalgiving.org/ UniversalGiving
US Open Data https://usopendata.org/ opendata
Ushahidi http://www.ushahidi.com/ ushahidi
Video Volunteers www.videovolunteers.org videovolunteers
Voxe.org http://voxe.org/ Voxe
Vumi http://vumi.org/ vumiapp
Watsi https://watsi.org/ watsi
WattTime www.watttime.org wattTime
WeFarm http://wefarm.org/ we_farm
WellDone http://welldone.org/ WellDone
Wikimedia Foundation http://wikimediafoundation.org/ Wikimedia
Wishbone https://www.wishbone.org/ wishboneorg
Worldreader http://www.worldreader.org/ worldreaders
YTH http://yth.org/ YTHorg
Zidisha https://www.zidisha.org/ ZidishaInc
Zooniverse https://www.zooniverse.org the_zooniverse

Any additions or changes?  Let us know.

Interested in being part of the Tech Nonprofit Directory? Submit your organization here.