Two of the most common questions we hear are “What is a tech nonprofit?” and “Where can I find them?”

Our answer to the first question is tech nonprofits look like a typical tech startup – they build a product using technology – and have selected a nonprofit structure because they’re building for impact instead of profits. Like startups, they come in different sizes from different sectors, but their product is core to their theory of change.

As to where they can be found that’s trickier. Since January 2014, we’ve combed the field to surface tech nonprofits and we made a list. So far, the list is 215 organizations [updated October 28, 2015].

Below is the complete list. We’ve also launched a TECH NONPROFIT DIRECTORY, which we are actively populating with much more information on these organizations searchable by many filters. Add your organization to the directory through the Submit Organization form.

A few notes:

1. Without question, this is a sector ripe for growth.

2. Not all of the organizations listed are officially nonprofits. Many are fiscally sponsored, some are in the application process, and others work in geographies where the classification is problematic.

3. Not all of the organizations listed would consider themselves tech nonprofits, but it’s our list.

4. We’re confident that some organizations are missing. We will publish the list regularly. If you have organizations to add or edit, please contact us so we can update (info at ffwd dot org).

5. It is not common practice for funders to publicly publish their pipelines. We think the lack of transparency in philanthropy hinders sector growth. That’s why we are publishing our list.

Tech Nonprofit URL Twitter
80,000 Hours 80000Hours
1947 Partition Archive 1947Partition
Ability List AbilityList
AbleThrive AbleThrive
Activate Instruction ActivateIn
AdoptAClassroom Adopt_classroom
AdoptTogether Adoptt
AdvanceNet Labs AdvanceNetLabs
Ample Harvest AmpleHarvest
Apps4Good AppsforGoodCDI
ATMA Mobile AtmaConnect
Ballot Path
Bayes Impact bayesimpact
Beehive BeehiveFund
Ben’s Friends bensfriends
Benetech Benetech
Better World Ed betterworldedu
Beyond 12 beyond12
BitGive Foundation BitGiveOrg
Blue Planet Network BluePlanetNet
Blueprint Earth BlueprintEarth Bookshare
Brackets for Good bracketsforgood
Brioxy BrioxyInc careervillage
CareMessage caremessage
Case Commons CaseCommons
Catch22 Catch22charity
Cell-Ed Cell_Ed
Center for Responsive Politics OpenSecretsDC
Center for Technology and Civic Life HelloCTCL
Cgnet Swara CGNet_Swara
Change Machine
Classroom, Inc. classroominc codeorg
Code for America codeforamerica codestarterorg
Color Of Change ColorOfChange
CommonLit CommonLit
Common Sense Media CommonSense
COTAP – Carbon Offsets To Alleviate Poverty carbonpoverty teamcoworker
Credit Do CreditDo
Crisis Text Line CrisisTextLine
Critical Link CriticaLinkApp
CrowdVoice CrowdVoice CuriousLearnGLP
D-Rev d_rev_org
DemocracyOS DemocracyOS
Digital Green digitalgreenorg
DNAdigest DNADigest
Do Something dosomething DonorsChoose
E.thePeople etppl
Eduko Foundation GoEduko
EdX edXOnline
Enlearn EnLearnorg eSwarajApp
Falling Fruit Falling_Fruit
Families Empowered FamsEmpowered
FCancer FcancerProject wefeasted
Feeding Forward FeedingForward
Frogtek frogtek
FrontlineSMS FrontlineSMS
FunDza FunDzaClub
Games for Change G4C
Geledes geledes
Get Schooled getschooled
Give Directly Give_Directly
Give Mob GiveMobApp
GiveWell GiveWell
Good World Solutions GoodWorldTech
Gooru Learning gooru
GradGuru mygradguru
Great Nonprofits GreatNonprofits GreatSchools
Green Our Planet GreenOurPlanet2
Gun By Gun gunbygun
Healthy Young Americans YoungInvincible
Hermes Center for Transparency and Digital Human Rights HermesCenter
Hope Lab HopeLab
Humanitarian Open Street Map hotosm
I’m First ImFirstGen
iCivics icivics
Immigration Advocates ImmAdvocates
Impact Network Impact_Network
Infoxchange Infoxchange
Instapeer Instapeer
Integrity Action Act4Integrity
Internet Archive internetarchive
Iridescent IridescentLA
Janaagraha Centre for Citizenship and Democracy
Kangu KanguOrg
Khan Academy khanacademy
Kitchen Garden International rogerdoiron
Kiva Kiva
KoBoToolbox kobotoolbox
Latino EduMentor
Learn Fresh Education Co. NBAMathHoops
Library For All LibraryForAll
Literacy Bridge LiteracyBridge
Literacy Lab literacy_lab
LocalWiki LocalWiki
Long Distance Voter AbsenteeBallots lul_io
Mealshare MealshareTeam
MediBeep MediBeep
Medic Mobile Medic
Meedan meedan
Mideast Youth MideastYouth
Mifos Initiative mifos
MIND Research Institute MIND_Research
Mindblown Labs MindblownLabs
Missing Maps TheMissingMaps
Miti Health MitiHealth
MoboSens MoboSens
MoneyThink moneythink
Mozilla Foundation mozilla
mRelief mRelief_form
myAgro myAgroFarms
Nearshot miraclemsg
Newborn Foundation newbornfdn
New Incentives NewIncentives
New Organizing Institute neworganizing
New Story NewStoryCharity
Nexleaf Analytics Nexleaf
Noora Health NooraHealth
Odisi odisiorg
On Our Radar OnOurRadar
OneDollarGlasses EinDollarBrille
One Brick onebrick
One Degree 1Deg
Open Food Network OpenFoodNet
Open Medicine Project TOMP_SA
Open mHealth OpenMHealth
open[Fn] openfn
OpenCurriculum OpenCurriculum
Operation ASHA OperationASHA
Organize organ_ize
PareUp letspareup
Participatory Culture Foundation
Participatory Politics ppolitics
Peace First PeaceFirstOrg
Pennies pennies_orguk
PowerMyLearning PowerMyLearning probono
PulsePoint pulsepoint
Quill Quill_org
ReadWorks ReadWorks
ReAllocate reallocate
Reasoning Mind reasoningmind
Recovery Hub therecoveryhub
Refugees Unite refunite
Report It, Girl ReportItGirl
Respite Shared respiteshared
Rootio RootioRadio
Safe City pinthecreep
Sahana Software Foundation SahanaFOSS
Samahope Samahope
Samaschool _Samaschool
Samasource Samasource
Say This Not That
Saylor Academy saylordotorg
Science Buddies ScienceBuddies
Scratch ScratchEdTeam
Securing Change securingchange
Security First _SecurityFirst
Sexual Health Innovations SHInnovations
Shift shift_org
SimPrints SimPrintsTech
Single Stop SingleStop
Sirum sirum
Sisi ni Amani SisiNiAmani
Social Interest Solutions
Solar Aid SolarAid
Sol-Solution thesolsolution
Solstice Initiative solarforgood
Spell Africa Initiative StellarOrg
SunSaluter TheSunSaluter
Talking Points TalkingPointsEd
Text4Baby mytext4baby
The History Project historyproject_
The Learning Accelerator LearningAccel
The School Fund TheSchoolFund
Tidepool Tidepool_org
Transparency Toolkit TransparencyKit
Trek Medics International TrekMedics
TrustTheVote Project TrustTheVote
TurboVote TurboVote
Ultraviolet UltraViolet
Union Capital Boston UCBoston
Uncommen UNCOMMENapp
UniversalGiving UniversalGiving
US Open Data opendata
Ushahidi ushahidi
Video Volunteers videovolunteers Voxe
Vumi vumiapp
Watsi watsi
WattTime wattTime
WeFarm we_farm
WellDone WellDone
Wikimedia Foundation Wikimedia
Wishbone wishboneorg
Worldreader worldreaders
Zidisha ZidishaInc
Zooniverse the_zooniverse

Any additions or changes?  Let us know.

Interested in being part of the Tech Nonprofit Directory? Submit your organization here.