Tech Nonprofit Directory

The Most Comprehensive Database of the World’s Tech Nonprofits

Browse the Directory


OpenMRS’ mission is to improve health care delivery in resource-constrained environments by coordinating a global community to create and support this s

Founded: 2004 by Paul Biondich, Burke Mamlin, Hamish Frasier, and Chris Seebregts

  • Program Area

    Health & Healthcare, Education, Public Service & Civic Engagement
  • Location of Impact

    Global, Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, Latin America, Middle East, Albania, Algeria, Armenia, Bangladesh, Belarus, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Chile, Colombia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Ethiopia, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kazakstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Lao Peoples Democratic Republic, Liberia, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Mali, Mexico, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Svalbard And Jan Mayen, Tajikistan, Tanzania, United Republic Of, Uganda, Ukraine, Vietnam, Zimbabwe
  • Headquarters Location

    Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
  • Product Platforms

    Web, Mobile Apps, Open Source
  • Budget

    $0 to $500,000

The OpenMRS community is a worldwide network of volunteers from many different backgrounds including technology, health care, and international development. Together, we're working to build the world's largest and most flexible technology platform to support delivery of health care in some of the most challenging environments on the planet. No matter what your background or interest, we'd love to have you help us save lives with Health IT.

Funders and Awards

Funders: Google,The Rockefeller Foundation, CDC, USAID, Partners In Health, Regenstrief Institute, MRC of SA, University of Washington, and Millennium VIllage Project; Awards: 2012 Free Software Award for Projects of Social Benefit, 2016 Donald A.B. Lindberg Award for Innovation in Informatics